(Vocal jazz) Bobby Darin - Sings The Shadow of Your Smile & In a Broadway Bag - 1966, MP3 (tracks), 320 kbps

(Vocal jazz) Bobby Darin - Sings The Shadow of Your Smile & In a Broadway Bag - 1966, MP3 (tracks), 320 kbps
Bobby Darin - Sings The Shadow of Your Smile & In a Broadway Bag
Жанр: Vocal jazz
Год выпуска диска: 1966
Производитель диска: Diabolo Records
Аудио кодек: MP3
Тип рипа: tracks
Битрейт аудио: 320 kbps
Продолжительность: 1.17.27
1. The Shadow of Your Smile
2. The Sweetheart Tree
3. I Will Wait for You
4. The Ballad of Cat Ballou
5. What's New Pussycat?
6. Rainin'
7. Lover, Come Back to Me
8. Cute
9. After You've Gone
10. It's Only a Paper Moon
11. Liza (All the Clouds'll Roll Away)
12. We Didn't Ask to Be Brought Here
13. Funny What Love Can Do
14. The Breaking Point
15. Silver Dollar
16. Mame
17. I Believe in You
18. It's Today
19. Everybody Has the Right to Be Wrong
20. Feeling Good
21. Don't Rain on My Parade
22. The Other Half of Me
23. Once Upon a Time
24. Try to Remember
25. I'll Only Miss Her When I Think of Her
26. Night Song
27. Walking in the Shadow of Love
28. Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
29. Merci Cherie
Доп. информация:
Дополнительная информация
This disc features the classic 1966 LPs Sings The Shadow Of Your Smile and In A Broadway Bag. These albums signaled Darin’s return to Atlantic Records after a 7-album stint at Capitol.
A desire for more creative control has been cited by many sources as a leading reason for Darin’s original departure from Atlantic, so it should come as no surprise that Sings The Shadow Of Your Smile finds Mr. Darin sitting in the producer’s chair. With an artist of such fine taste and talent at the helm, the result is pure magic. Continuing in the vein of Darin’s last two LPs at Capitol (From Hello Dolly To Goodbye Charlie and Venice Blue), Shadow is an entertaining mix of catchy pop, finger-snappin’ swing and breathtaking ballads. The title track is a moving Shorty Rogers arrangement of a hauntingly romantic Johnny Mandel/Paul Francis Webster number. Darin’s delicately executed delivery is pure gold. On the other end of the spectrum is the toe-tappin’ delight of Neal Hefti and Stanley Styne’s “Cute.” Darin delivers the lyrics with such an easygoing style that it seems as if the words are occurring to him as he sings.
The jewel in this set, however, is the stunning Richard Wess arrangement of Henry Creamer and Turner Layton’s “After You’ve Gone.” Wess is the man who gave Darin his career defining hits, “Mack the Knife” and “Beyond The Sea.” Wess’ instinct for drama and his understanding that Darin was not just a singer, but a singing actor, serve him well here. Like “Mack,” “Gone” starts down low and builds to an amazing crescendo. Pianist Jimmy Rowles brings Darin in with a lovely intro and gently punctuates the lyrics in the first half of the tune. As the horns kick in and Darin leans into words, the drive to the big finish begins, and the dynamic duo of Wess and Darin take it home with their trademark power and panache.
Both sides of Darin’s debut single from his return to Atlantic in 1965, “We Didn’t Ask To Be Brought Here” and “Funny What Love Can Do,” are included with Shadow as bonus tracks. These two Darin originals, one a protest song and the other a traditional blues number, serve as an interesting counterpoint to the adult standards content of Shadow. The message to Atlantic is clear: Darin was back, and this time, he had no intention of being pigeonholed, as crooner or rocker.
In a Broadway Bag might just be the most compelling proof of Bobby Darin’s talent for acting a song. Every Broadway number he takes on here becomes an instant classic in his hands. “It’s Today” (from the smash Jerry Herman musical Mame) is excitement defined. The typically clever and humorous Sammy Cahn and Jimmy Van Heusen tune “Everybody Has the Right to Be Wrong” (from the show “Skyscraper”) finds Darin utilizing his well developed comedic sense to give each line the sly wink it deserves. The tender ballad “Once Upon A Time” (from the Lee Adams/Charles Strouse show All American) becomes another career defining moment for Darin, ensuring that he will forever be identified with the song. Strouse and Adams also supply the most mind-blowing number on this LP, “Night Song,” from the hit musical “Golden Boy.” Based on a play by Clifford Odets, the original Broadway show starred Darin’s good friend, Sammy Davis, Jr. No slight to the immensely talented Mr. Davis intended, but Darin completely outdoes him with this rendition. His command of the emotional depth in the lyrics is beyond reproach. Darin’s final long, magnificent note is no doubt still bouncing around in the stratosphere somewhere.
The single sides included with Broadway Bag as bonus tracks are further testament to Darin’s intent to stick with his eclectic approach. He adds a hint of rhythm and blues to the country lament Walking In The Shadow Of Love, then delivers an exquisite reading of Who’s Afraid Of Virginia Woolf. Michael Macomber
In 1966, five very different songs were nominated for Academy Awards. On The Shadow of Your Smile, which was released in March of that year, Bobby Darin flexed his musical muscles and covered them all. The first five tracks on The Shadow of Your Smile are Oscar nominees and were arranged by Shorty Rogers. "The Shadow of Your Smile" is a tender love song from The Sandpiper, which starred Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton. The sensitive "I Will Wait for You" was in the French film The Umbrellas of Cherbourg. Two songs were in comedies of the day: "The Sweetheart Tree" from The Great Race and "The Ballad of Cat Ballou" from the Western satire Cat Ballou. And some have called "What's New Pussycat?," from the movie of the same name, the "wildest song ever nominated." Darin showcases his dynamic range on pop standards on the rest of the record. The remaining six songs were arranged by Richard Wess and include songs by Ira Gershwin and George Gershwin ("Liza"), Harold Arlen and Yip Harburg ("It's Only a Paper Moon"), Oscar Hammerstein ("Lover Come Back to Me), and even a Darin original ("Rainin'"). The Shadow of Your Smile has all of Bobby Darin's hallmark traits: schmaltz, swing, and humor. It was his first album for Atlantic Records.
Diablo Records includes four bonus tracks to The Shadow of Your Smile, but does not identify their origins: "We Didn't Ask to be Brought Here," "Funny What Love Can Do," "The Breaking Point," and "Silver Dollar." Recommended if you like well-written show tunes interpreted with upbeat bravado. In other words, if you like Bobby Darin the Entertainer.
In a Broadway Bag, released in June 1966, was Darin's second LP for Atlantic. Though The Shadow of Your Smile included five songs from Oscar-nominated films and a number of other standards, it is on In a Broadway Bag where Darin took the concept to its logical end. In a Broadway Bag is a complete album of outstanding songs from current and recent hit musicals of the time. It begins with "Mame," which, as a single before Mame had even opened on Broadway, became one of the biggest hits of the year. As a result, the song became a staple of Darin's live act, and often opened his show. Darin's success with "Mame" inspired him to learn more about Broadway shows and to compile In a Broadway Bag. The LP showcases upbeat songs including "Don't Rain on My Parade" from Funny Girl, "I Believe in You from How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, "It's Today" (also from Mame), "Everybody Has the Right to be Wrong" from Skyscraper, and "Feeling Good" from The Roar of the Greasepaint, The Smell of the Crowd. In a Broadway Bag has its share of ballads as well, including Jerry Orbach's tune "Try to Remember" from The Fantastiks, "Night Song" from Golden Boy, "Once Upon a Time" from All American, "I'll Only Miss Her" from Skyscraper, and "The Other Half of Me" from I Had a Ball
Download available for power users only.
Нет комментариев. Ваш будет первым!