(Vocal Jazz) Abigail Riccards - When the Night Is New - 2007, MP3, 320 kbps

(Vocal Jazz) Abigail Riccards - When the Night Is New - 2007, MP3, 320 kbps
Abigail Riccards / When the Night Is New
Жанр: Vocal Jazz
Год издания: 2007
Аудиокодек: MP3
Тип рипа: tracks
Битрейт аудио: 320 kbps
Продолжительность: 00:56:28
Наличие сканов в содержимом раздачи: нет
01. But Beautiful
02. East of the Sun
03. The Very Thought Of You
04. You Don't Know What Love Is
05. The Thrill Is Gone
06. If I Should Lose You
07. It Might As Well Be Spring
08. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
09. Left Alone
10. Just One Of Those Things
11. I Was Brought To My Senses
12. I'll Be Seeing You
Об альбоме (сборнике)
The heralded arrival of any new singing sensation is oftentimes met with caution, but in the case of Abigail Riccards' When The Night Is New the total package her voice and the music is one that truly deserves attention. Riccards has gained notoriety since moving to New York in 2003 as a semifinalist in the Thelonious Monk International Jazz Vocal Competition in 2004, performing with some of the best in jazz, locally and for the troops in the Middle East.
With a gorgeous voice that's filled with warmth and poise, and a style that equals celebrated peers Jane Monheit and Diana Krall, Riccards sings with genuineness without mimicking the great singers who have come before her. Riccards is in fine company with David Berkman (piano), Ben Allison (bass), Ron Horton (trumpet) and others. The songs consist of standards and popular songs (including a unique cover of Sting's "I Was Brought to My Senses ) with classic jazz vocals in a contemporary setting. Riccards' voice is finely crafted, infused with grace and confidence on the opening ballad "But Beautiful, or bringing some sassy styling on "East of the Sun. The snazzy arranging of some classics also keeps things fresh.
The tasty horn section on "East Of the Sun enhances the swing. The oriental-pattern of the acoustic bass on "The Very Thought of You gives the tune a new and playful demeanor. Take your pick from the bass/percussion on "If I Should Lose You or the woodwind colors on "I Didn't Know What Time It Was. They all mesh perfectly with Riccards' sumptuous voice. Whether the tunes get down and funky on "It Might As Well Be Spring or heartthrob the feel of the blues on "Left Alone, Riccards sings as if she knows the material intimately. And when it's all said and done the proof exists in the package: the songs, the music and the striking voice of a talented new singer who shines brightly.~Mark F.Turner
Abigail Riccards: vocals; David Berkman: piano, organ; Ben Allison: bass; Matt Wilson: drums; Adam Kolker: woodwinds; Ron Horton: trumpet, flugelhorn; Lage Lund: guitar; Rogerio Boccato: percussion.
Download available for power users only.
To become a power user - read FAQ.
Нет комментариев. Ваш будет первым!