(Smooth Jazz, Soul) Jeanette Harris - Summer Rain - 2013, MP3, 320 kbps

(Smooth Jazz, Soul) Jeanette Harris - Summer Rain - 2013, MP3, 320 kbps
Jeanette Harris / Summer Rain
Жанр: Smooth Jazz, Soul
Год издания: 2013
Аудиокодек: MP3
Тип рипа: tracks
Битрейт аудио: 320 kbps
Продолжительность: 00:54:31
Наличие сканов в содержимом раздачи: нет
01. Just Keep Holding On
02. Passing Time
03. Take Me There
04. Summer Rain
05. Muy Caliente
06. The Ride (feat. Darrell Crooks)
07. Chillin’
08. Here & Now
09. Oh so Good
10. 12:57 (feat. Marcus Anderson)
11. Ja’licious
12. Thankful (feat. Joel Bowers)
13. Summer Rain (feat. Joel Bowers)
Об исполнителе (группе)
Jeanette Harris is the scintillating saxtress of smooth jazz. This lady understands that energetic and captivating performances matched with uplifting and inspiring vibrations in the music are the solid platinum recipe for success. Fans already recognize her for her wonderful cover of Stevie Wonder’s “All I Do,” which hit Billboard’s smooth jazz singles chart from her previous album, Saxified. Classically trained in both sax and piano, a graduate of Boston’s famed Berklee College of Music, and the saxophonist for the late, great Teena Marie’s final year of touring, Jeanette has weathered the fiercest challenges to bring the world her own brand of soulful healing vibes. That baptism awaits in her fourth CD, Summer Rain, on which Jeanette had a hand in writing all of the selections except her lovely cover of the Luther Vandross classic “Here and Now.” Its 11 sunny songs wrap the listener in the glow of fun love grooves and sweet romance.
“The music of Summer Rain is all about a positive vibe,” Jeanette states. “It’s about staying in love…never falling out of love, feeling good, being faithful and always following a positive route. Great things have happened for me in the last year. I’ve learned what’s really important in life – my family and my music.”
Those looking to hear Jeanette really dig in on her horn should focus on two songs that feature her friend Darrell Crooks on guitar. The first is the dreamy “Take Me There,” a sensual mellow groove that finds Jeanette layering her horn in subtle combinations that tease, tickle and mesmerize the ear. And then there’s “The Ride,” a techno groove that bumps into some truly heated interplay and exchange between Jeanette and Darrell that makes you want to see what all of that energy looks, sounds and feels like live on stage. Other highlights include the playful “Ja’licious” (Jeanette’s sassy melding of the word “jazz” with “delicious”), the radiant “Oh So Good” and the laidback groove “Chillin’.” “My rapper friends say they can really flow on that one,” Jeanette shares with a laugh.
Extra special are the passionately building “Passing Time” (a song featuring keyboardist George Freeman that initially came to her - out of the blue - in the shower), the lusciously melodic “Just Keep Holding On” (one of two writing collaborations with the prolific Chuck Cymone), and the spicily syncopated “Muy Caliente’” – Jeanette’s maiden foray into Latin Groove on which she also plays some mean piano. Listen closely…ai cuidado!
The love-at-first-sight scenario song/title track of Summer Rain showcases the vocals of Jeanette’s secret weapon singer Joel Bowers – math teacher by day, soul crooner by night. “One of my trademarks is writing a song for a vocalist then having the instrumental version on the same album,” she offers. “On my CD Saxified, I wrote the lyrics first for ‘You Can Dance’ then reworked it for my saxophone. I switched it up for ‘Summer Rain’ and wrote the music first, then the words. I wrote the lyrics with my mother and think it’s beautiful. It’s about a guy who sees a pretty lady in the rain and falls for her instantly. It’s important to remember those moments…especially when that person makes you angry! Reflect on that memory. You’ll be more humble and understanding.”
Equally inspired, but in a completely different light is Summer Rain’s other vocal piece, “Thankful,” a heartfelt offering of gratitude sent up to Jesus in song. “It’s important to give thanks to The Lord,” she says. “‘Thankful’ came from my heart with lyrics that I truly feel deeply.”
Об альбоме (сборнике)
Saxtress/multi-instrumentalist Jeanette Harris is just no ordinary sax player who also plays other instruments. When you listen to the solid grooves she’s penned here on her new Summer Rain release (to be available on April 2), you quickly hear and know that this is a woman who not only knows her instruments but just how big a part catchy and attractive melodies play in any really decent recording. So, her writing deserves as much credit as her talent in playing various instruments.
This lovely noteplayer who was a member of the late Teena Marie’s band in the final year before the singer’s death provides just the smoothness one needs to make a romantic night one to surely remember with adorable tracks like “Chillin’,” a wonderful interpretation of the late Luther Vandross’ “Here & Now.” Then, there are the infectious mid-to-up-tempo grooves like the lead track “Just Keep Holding On,” “Passing Time,” “Take Me There,” the title track, and the Latin groove “Muy Caliente” (and it is), just name a few.
With help from the likes of saxman Marcus Anderson, vocalist Joel Bowers, guitarist Darrell Crooks, keyboardists/drum programmers George Freeman and Andrew Dorsette, keyboardist/composer/producer Chuck Cymone, and her brother Michael who contributed some production and songwriting assistance, Harris and Summer Rain come fully loaded and ready to charm.
In addition to an album full of wonderfully palatable tunes, a few on which Harris plays all of the instruments, the comely saxtress is rolling out her own Summer Rain perfume shortly after the CD is released. Says Harris, “I’ve been working on this project for a few months and finally came up with a scent that I’m digging. I love perfume and I think people of all ages will enjoy my smooth, sensual perfume, which adds another dimension to the love story.” And what a story it all is.
There is no outrageous flash or “overkill” here – just great, smooth, soul-filling melodies and snappy rhythms along with well-phrased instrumentation. With a sound that is as fresh as summer rain, this is certainly one for your collection of outstanding contemporary jazz. – Ronald Jackson
Download available for power users only.
To become a power user - read FAQ.
Нет комментариев. Ваш будет первым!